David D. Horner Award for Exceptional Service

Candidates should have 10 years of experience in the field with 5 years of experience while in Michigan. Service to the state can include service on or in support of the MAFSA/MAIE team, but may also include mentoring or otherwise serving as a resource to others in the field. Letters of support should delineate the contributions made to the field at the state, regional, or national level. Absent such letters, the nominee’s resume delineating MAFSA/MAIE and NAFSA service would be useful. A committee of past recipients will be convened to select the winner. The winner will be announced at the MAIE annual conference. Click here for Horner Award information. Nominations are due February 2019.

Past Recipients:
2002: David Horner
2003: Nancy Kopka
2004: Paul Dean Webb
2005: Peggy Arbanas
2006: Scott Cooper
2007: James Crawley
2008: Thomas Bassett
2009: Cindy Gould
2010: Chris Viers
2011: Linda Seats
2012: Diana Schack
2013: Claudia Bean
2014: Christine Bargerstock
2015: Patricia Walter
2016: no recipient
2017: David Archbold

2018: Esther Gunel

Scott Cooper Award for Excellence in International Student Advising

In honor of his many years of dedicated service to the international student community and the legal profession in State of Michigan, and for his commitment to peer education in the field of international student advising and regulatory affairs, the Michigan Association of International Education is pleased to present Mr. Scott Cooper this newly established Award for Excellence in international Student Advising. This award has been created in Scott’s honor and will be henceforth known as the Cooper Award. Future nominees must have served in the field of international student service/advising for at least five years and they must have demonstrated a commitment to both receiving training as well as training others, and they must exceptional dedication to student service. MAIE wants to thank Scott for his many years of service to MAIE and for his commitment to the students and professionals he has encountered through his years in the field of International Education. Please submit a nomination letter and one letter of support for this award to the Chair. Click here for the contact information of the MAIE Chair to submit your nomination documents.  Nominations are due February 2019.

Past Recipients: 
2014: Scott Cooper
2015: Laura LaVoie LeShok
2016: Kate Stoetzner
2017: Brooke Stokdyke

2018: Scott Manley

Exceptional Service to MAIE Community Award

This award will be for a member of the community who has contributed to MAIE and to the mission of promoting international education in Michigan. Nominations are for those professionals in the general community whom MAIE members work with. The nominee’s efforts have positively affected international initiatives that move our mission forward to bring quality international education to our students from Michigan or while in Michigan. The nominees work have a direct impact on our students’ experiences and nominees have assisted with a quality educational experience for the students as well as making our jobs in international education more streamlined within the community beyond our campuses.

Please complete this form to nominate someone you believe should be considered for this award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s